The House of the Black Madonna
The beginning of 20th century was an era of many changes in our country. Not just political changes and changes in the society, but more importantly – changes in architecture. The House of a Black Madonna is a great example of how such a changes were accepted by locals.
In year 1910 was demolished and old baroque building at the corner of Celetna Street and Ovocny trh (Fruit market Square). A new owner of that property, a merchant named František Herbst, decided to build here a modern shopping center. Young architect jan Gočár presented him an idea of cubist building, which he found very interesting. However, when his idea went public, it started a storm of public, he had a lot of struggles with Prague’s city council and Club for an Old Prague – public organization that tried to protect historical heritage of Prague. Both organizations wanted him to blend the new building more with surrounding area, therefore he remodeled his plans couple of times, coming to a perfect sync of the old and new architecture. The new construction was finished in year 1912.
Without doubt this building has purely cubistic shapes, but it combines a lot of details from baroque architecture as well. The original door sign of the previous building, a black Madonna, was kept and installed on the corner.
Nowadays is the building used as a small cubist shop, cubist café (in the first floor) and museum of cubism, which you can find on the first floor.
Address: Ovocný trh 19, Prague 1
Map.Ref.: 50.0869719, 14.4254936
Museum opening hours: Tue-Sun 10am-6pm
Museum entry fee: 150 CZK adults, 80 CZK students